2018 School Fair
The Parenting Center

Helping parents grow!

2018 School Fair & Kindergarten Readiness Forum

5342 ST CHARLES AVE, NEW ORLEANS
JCC, MINTZ AUDITORIUM

6:00 – 6:30 pm Readiness Panel
What does my child need to succeed in school? How do I apply to the school of my choice?

Consuelo Barron
Pre-K lead teacher, JCC Nursery School

Gabriela Fighetti
Chief of Student Access, Orleans Parish Schools

Stacey Gengel, PhD
Psychologist

Maggie Madere
Reading Specialist and 1st/2nd grade teacher, JCDS

Facilitated by
Jenni Watts Evans
The Parenting Center of Children’s Hospital

6:00 – 8:00 pm Open House Participants
Representatives from public, charter, religious, independent, and private schools. Also programs serving children with special needs and reps from EnrollNOLA and OneApp!

Audubon Charter School
428 Broadway, New Orleans
Latoye Brown, 324-7100
latoye_brown@auduboncharter.com

Benjamin Franklin Elementary Mathematics and Science School
6101 Chatham Dr (temp), New Orleans
Shannon Folse, 304-3932
sfolse@loenola.us
“KinderCorner curriculum, where each child excels academically and individually.”

Ecole Bilingue de la Nouvelle Orleans
821 General Pershing, New Orleans
Courtney Kloor, 896-4500
courtney.kloor@ebnola.com
“Academic excellence in bilingual French-American education:Small by design, excellent as a result.”

ENCORE Academy
2518 Arts Street, New Orleans
Terri Smith or Jennifer Kooy, 444-2224
tsmith@encorelearning.org
“A diverse, open admissions PK-8 truly arts focused charter school: Where arts alongside academics works!”

Holy Name of Jesus
6325 Cromwell Place, New Orleans
Megan Bayer, 861-1466
mbayer@hnjschool.org
"The traditions and charisms of the Jesuit Fathers and the Sisters of Mercy of the Americas continue to guide our mission of educating the whole child, both academically and spiritually.”

InspireNOLA Charter Schools
2401 Westbend Park, New Orleans
Emily Hartnett, 322-8212
Emily.hartnett@inspirenolaschools.org
“High performing, open admissions charter schools that educate children academically, socially, emotionally, and physically.”

ISAS (Independent School Association of the Southwest)
Ashley Zito, 274-4919
Azito@ashrosary.org
“11 Independent Schools – which one is for you?”

Jewish Community Day School of GNO
3747 West Esplanade Ave N, Metairie
Lauren Unger, 887-4091
lungar@jcdsnola.org
“A love of learning invigorated by empowering academics and Jewish values.”

Louise S. McGehee School
2343 Prytania Street, New Orleans
Julee LaPorte, 561-1224
juleel@mcgeheeschool.com
“Louise S McGehee School: Leading Women”

Lusher Charter School
7315 Willow Street, New Orleans
Becky Bell, 862-5110
Rebecca_flot@lusherschool.org
#SmartsAndArts

Lycee Francais de la Nouvelle-Orleans
5951 Patton Street, New Orleans
Cristina Sanchez, 620-5500
csanchez1@lfno.org
“The opportunity to achieve both the French Baccalaureate and the La high school diploma in an academically challenging and culturally diverse environment.”

Morris Jeff Community School
211 S Lopez, New Orleans
Lisa Sirgo, 373-6258
lsirgo@morrisjeffschool.org

Noble Minds
3819 Herschel Street, New Orleans
Dr Vera Triplett, 962-7286
information@nobleminds.org

NOLA Homeschoolers
2929 Metairie Court, Metairie
Ashley Griffith, 383-3676
connect@nolahomeschoolers.com

Raphael Academy
500 Soraparu Street, New Orleans
Emilia Aguinaga, 524-5955
info@raphaelacademy.org
"Educating students (K-1 and 5-12) who may have Autism Spectrum Disorder, Down Syndrome, or other intellectual disabilities using a modified Waldorf curriculum.”

Ursuline Academy ECLC
2635 State Street, New Orleans
Becky McLellan, 861-9150
admissions@uanola.org
“Experience the Ursuline difference!”

Waldorf School of New Orleans
517 Soraparu, New Orleans
Margaret Runyon, 345-2366
enrollment@waldorfnola.org
“Learning to change the world.”

Young Scholars NOLA
2929 Metairie Court, Metairie
Ty Salvant, 251-5534
ysnola@graduate.org

Additional resources

CSHS Family Resource Center
200 Henry Clay Ave., Suite 2020, NOLA
Thuy Nguyen, 896-1340
Thuy.Nguyen@La.Gov

Early Steps
3520 Gen DeGaulle Dr, Ste 3090, NOLA
Tomorrow Fondal, 943-0343
tfondal@fhfnola.org
“It’s never too soon to ask questions about your baby’s development; earlysteps can help.”

EnrollNOLA (OneApp)
2401 West Bend Pkwy, New Orleans
Kristen Illarmo, 504-359-4337
killarmo@opsb.us

Families Helping Families of GNO
700 Hickory Ave, Harahan
Bebe Bode/Sharon Blackman, 888-9111
bbode@fhfofgno.org
“Connecting and educating families of children with disabilities and special health care needs: changing lives everyday.”

Families Helping Families/LaCAN
2401 Westbend Pkwy, Ste 3090, NOLA
Nicole E Williams, 943-0343
nwilliams@lacanadvocates.org

Orleans Parish School Board Child Search Program
3520 Gen DeGaulle Dr., Suite 2060, NOLA
Dionne Parker-George, 359-8154
Dionne_Parker-George@opsb.us

For more information and a list of participating schools and panelists please contact 504.896.9591.